Necronomicon is a free companion web app for the Cthulhu Wars boardgame. It is developed by Filippo Salvarani as fan project and it's made with resources gathered freely from the Petersen's Games' website and from the Cthulhu Wars boardgame community
Notes and Copyrights
The Cthulhu Wars boardgame and all its rules and illustrations belong to Petersen Games.
While Necronomicon is completely free, developing and mantaining a website requires a lot of time (and quite some money), if you want to say thank you or just to encourage my work, please, consider making a donation.
The Library at Celaeno Map consists of two levels, the Lower Floor and the Upper Floor. These are separate boards; they should be kept near each other in play, but do not need to be adjacent. Their edges do not wrap around, as the Library is not a globe. Therefore, the two levels have edges and corners, and Units cannot move around from one edge to another.
As with other maps in Cthulhu Wars, use the 3-Player sides for a 3-Player game, use the 5-Player sides for a 5-Player game, and use one 3-Player and one 5-Player side for a 4-Player game.
There are 4 Upper Floor Areas which have square slots on them. These are: Barrier of Naach-Tith, Guardian Under the Lake, Larvae of the Outer Gods, and Yr and the Nhhngr. Place each Library Tome in its corresponding slot. If Opener of the Way is in the game, it CANNOT start in any of these four Areas. The Librarian and Custodian figures begin off-Map.
Part of the library is flooded, which makes these Areas seas. These Areas are all labeled with the word ‘Sea’ in their name, or in parentheses as (sea). All sea Areas count as both oceans and seas for all game purposes. Note, for example, that the word “Lake” in the name does NOT denote an ocean or sea Area—it must include the word sea or ocean.
The Stairwells & Archways
Certain Areas contain Stairwells; these are lettered A-F on each floor. These Areas are adjacent to their matching Areas on the other level. For instance, in the 3-Player side of the Lower Floor, the Chamber of Apkallu contains Stairwell D. It is therefore adjacent to the Area of Barrier of Naach-Tith, which is also marked with a D but is on the Upper Floor (for both 3- and 5-player sides).
A Pained Unit in a Stairwell Area can go through the Stairwell to the other Floor, because these Areas are adjacent for all purposes.
Several Areas contain Archways. These are similar to Stairwells, except that they are not lettered. For purposes of the Move Action and movement-type abilities, each Archway Area is adjacent to EVERY OTHER Archway Area on both Floors of the Library.
However, unlike the Stairwells, the Archways are NOT adjacent when being Pained or Retreated. Players using other movement-type abilities to travel may do so freely between the two boards. For instance, Shub-Niggurath can Avatar to either side, Crawling Chaos Hunting Horrors can use Seek and Destroy to access either board, Cthulhu can use Submerge to hit both boards, etc.
The Library Tomes
Spontaneous Gate Creation
At the start of the first Doom Phase, place a Gate in each of the four Areas where the Library Tomes were placed during set up (unless a Gate is already present).
This Gate Creation happens only once. If one or more of these Areas is missing its Gate in later Doom Phases, nothing happens.
The Library Tomes
The Library Tomes act as additional, available Spellbooks. However, they are not placed on your Faction Card and do not count toward having 6 Spellbooks (for the purposes of Unlimited Battle or winning the game).
When you Control a Gate in an Area with a Tome, take that Area’s Library Tome (if it is still on the Map) and place it by your Faction Card. You may now use its ability as though it were a standard Spellbook.
Overdue Library Tomes
If you lose Control of a Gate in a Library Tome Area, then that Area’s Library Tome is now Overdue. This does not affect your use of the Tome—it remains next to your Faction Card, and you can keep using its effects.
However, having an Overdue Library Tome means you are now vulnerable to the Librarian’s Agony (see: The Librarian, on the following page). At the start of each Doom Phase, all players take 1 Silence Token. At the start of the Gather Power Phase, all players must discard all Silence Tokens. A player can never have more than a single Silence Token at a time.
On your turn, as an Action, you may spend 0 Power, discard your Silence Token, and do one of the following:
Activate the Custodian
Activate the Librarian, if an enemy player has an Overdue Library Tome
Notes: You may also discard a Silence Token to flip certain Library Tomes over, or to cancel the effects of the Barrier of Naach-Tith.
A player controlling the Bubastis Faction takes 2 Silence Tokens at the start of each Doom phase, and may have up to 2 Silence Tokens at a time.
When you Activate the Custodian, you may place or Move it into any area (or keep it in the same Area). Then, roll the Agony die. If the Custodian stays in the same Area without Moving, add +1 to the Agony die’s final total.
A number of Units in the Custodian’s Area equal to the result on the Agony die must be Moved to The Oubliette. If more than one Faction is present, the Activating player gets to choose how many Units must go from each Faction (up to the total on the Agony die), but the affected players get to choose which Units are Moved. The player who Activated the Custodian can choose his own Units to be affected, as well. If there are fewer Units in the Area than the result of the Agony die roll, then Move all Units present to the Oubliette.
No player may take Control of an Abandoned Gate in an Area inhabited by the Custodian. If the Custodian is sent to an Area with a Controlled Gate, the Gate may remain Controlled (for the time being). If you Create a Gate in an Area with the Custodian, it must remain Abandoned until the Custodian leaves!
Additionally, players may not Battle the Custodian. It is immune to all Spellbooks, abilities, and other effects. The only interaction it has with a Faction is when a player activates it with a Silence Token. The Custodian has no Unit type.
Example: The Yellow Sign spends 1 Silence Token, Activating the Custodian in the Black Chamber. There are 3 Factions present: Great Cthulhu (Cthulhu plus 2 Cultists), Crawling Chaos (a Nightgaunt and 2 Cultists), and The Yellow Sign (King in Yellow, alone). A 2 is rolled, which is increased to a 3 because the Custodian was already in the Black Chamber and didn’t Move. The Yellow Sign selects himself as one of the victims, and happily evacuates his King to The Oubliette. He decides that Crawling Chaos must Move the remaining 2 units, and that means Cthulhu need not Move any. Crawling Chaos chooses to Move his 2 Cultists, leaving his Nightgaunt behind.
The Librarian may only be Activated if at least one enemy Faction has an Overdue Library Tome. The Librarian is Activated when a player spends a Silence Token and places the Librarian into any Area containing at least one Unit from an enemy Faction with an Overdue Library Tome. The Activating player then rolls the Agony die; as with the Custodian, if the Librarian stays in the same Area without Moving, add +1 to the Agony die’s final total.
If there is more than one enemy Faction in the Area with an Overdue Tome, the Activating player divides up the Agony die’s total between them as he pleases.
Each victim must satisfy all the Agony assigned to him by choosing from the following options:
Satisfy one Agony for each of your Units in the Area you choose to Eliminate.
Satisfy one Agony for each 1 Doom you choose to lose.
Satisfy one Agony for each Overdue Tome you return to its slot
If the victim does not have enough collective Units, Doom and Overdue Tomes to satisfy the Agony assigned to him, then the remaining Agony can be ignored.
When a player replaces an Overdue Tome to satisfy his Agony, and a Faction currently Controls the Gate in that Tome’s Area, the player Controlling that Gate immediately takes possession of the Tome.
As with the Custodian, no player may take Control of an Abandoned Gate in an Area inhabited by the Librarian. If the Librarian is sent to an Area with a Controlled Gate, the Gate may remain Controlled (for the time being). If you Create a Gate in an Area with the Librarian, it must remain Abandoned until the Librarian leaves.
Additionally, players cannot Battle the Librarian. It is immune to all Spellbooks, abilities, and other effects. The only interaction it has with players is when it is Activated by a player using a Silence Token. It does not have a Unit type.
Note: The only way a player can return a Library Tome back to the Map is by Satisfying Agony as inflicted by the Librarian. You cannot otherwise voluntarily replace it, nor are you ever forced to do so (if you always choose to lose Doom or Units instead).
Note: It is the start of the Action Phase, and two Tomes are Overdue. Cthulhu has one of the Overdue Tomes, and Black Goat has the other. The Librarian is currently at The Oubliette.
Sleeper pays a Silence token but does not Move the Librarian. The Librarian remains at The Oubliette, where Cthulhu has 4 Units. Sleeper rolls a 3 on the Agony die, but since the Librarian did not Move, the result is actually a 4. Cthulhu decides to return his Tome and lose 1 Unit and 2 Doom, satisfying all 4 Agony.
The Necronomicon app is completely free, but developing and mantaining a website requires a lot of time and efforts. If you want to help this app running or just to say thank you, please consider making a donation.